## ADMINISTRATION

## 4.—Lieutenant-Governors of Provinces, 1867-1916—concluded.

## ALBERTA.

Name.	Date of appointment.	Name.	Date of appointment.
George H. V. Bulyea George H. V. Bulyea		Robert George Brett	Oct. 6, 1915
BRITISH COLUMBIA.			
J. W. Trutch Albert Norton Richards. Clement F. Cornwall Hugh Nelson Edgar Dewdney Thomas R. McInnes	June 27, 1876 June 21, 1881 Feb. 7, 1887 Nov. 1, 1892	Lotbinière James Dunsmuir T. W. Patterson Frank S. Barnard	May 11, 1906 Dec. 3, 1909
THE TERRITORIES.			
A. G. Archibald Francis Goodschall Johnson Alexander Morris David Laird, P.C Edgar Dewdney	April 9, 1872 Dec. 2, 1872 Oct. 7, 1876	Joseph Royal C. H. Mackintosh M. C. Cameron A. E. Forget A. E. Forget	Oct. 31, 1893 May 30, 1898 Oct. 11, 1898

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>Second term.

## COMMISSION OF CONSERVATION.

Origin.—The Commission of Conservation was created in 1909 in response to a strong and growing public demand for a more efficient system of national economy with respect to the administration and development of Canada's natural resources. The United States had recently entered upon a national conservation policy, and when President Roosevelt invited Canada, Newfoundland and Mexico to participate in a North American Conservation Conference at Washington in February, 1909, the Hon. Clifford Sifton, the Hon. Sydney Fisher and Dr. Henri S. Béland were delegated to represent the Dominion. Conference adopted a Declaration of Principles, including a recommendation that a permanent conservation commission be appointed by each country concerned. To give effect to this recommendation, the Parliament of Canada unanimously enacted a law, assented to on May 19, 1909, providing for the creation of such a body. By Order-in-Council under date of September 3rd of the same year, the members of the Commission, thirty-two in number, were duly appointed, and the Hon. Clifford Sifton was named as Chairman.

Constitution.—The membership of the Commission is honorary and non-partisan in character. The ex-officio members include the federal Ministers of the Interior, of Agriculture and of Mines and the member of each provincial government of Canada who is charged with the administration of the natural resources of such province. In addition to the ex-officio members, twenty commissioners are appointed by the Governor-in-Council to hold office during pleasure; at least one appointed member from each province must be a member of the faculty of a university within the province. Not only is the